Children for God

Sylvia’s Sunday school lesson this past week was “Samuel Helps Eli.”

1 Samuel 1:24 – 28

And when she had weaned him, she took him up with her, along with a three-year-old bull, an ephah of flour, and a skin of wine, and she brought him to the house of the Lord at Shiloh. And the child was young. Then they slaughtered the bull, and they brought the child to Eli. And she said, “Oh, my lord! As you live, my lord, I am the woman who was standing here in your presence, praying to the Lord. For this child I prayed, and the Lord has granted me my petition that I made to him. Therefore I have lent him to the Lord. As long as he lives, he is lent to the Lord.” And he worshiped the Lord there.

I heard this for the first time as a teenager. It was a story about faithfulness. She gave her son back to the Lord. It meant so much more to me today. I read it for the first time as a Mom. Many of my friends are in the kid stage of life. I have friends who have to try really hard to have a baby. I also have some friends who despite their trying haven’t been able to have a baby. I can hardly grasp the level of faith and discipline it took to do what Hannah did. How many times did she think to herself “I don’t really have to do this.” “I can, he can serve the Lord another way.” or “I will keep him just a little bit longer.” How many times did she cry when she turned around in the kitchen and he wasn’t there? Or, did she cry at all? Was she overjoyed to follow through with her covenant to the Lord? Was she thrilled to know he was serving the Lord? Was she thankful for the gift of the time she had even her sacrifice of raising him?

I don’t know how I would feel. I don’t know what I would do. I do know I am thankful for God’s faithfulness to me. Today I pray I can be faithful to Him as Hannah was when she gave her son back to the Lord. I am thankful for my girls and come what may, I will be thankful for the time I have had with them.

Leave a Reply

