“You are the best Mommy ever!”

I push the cart to the frozen vegetables and rack my brain for the few items I need. I avoid eye contact with everyone. My three yahoos are a fragile lot. Any unwanted look, misplaced hello, or lingering conversation can tip the scale and spark chaos.

I toss my Steamfresh vegetables in the cart. They are buy-one-get-one-free. I always stock up with this sale. We go through so many vegetables. We walk around the corner, and Sylvia gleefully cries “oooooh.” Melanie frantically scans the cart for the object of Sylvia’s excitement. Sylvia reaches for a bag of vegetables. Melanie glances my way with an enormous grin. “Are they edamame, Mommy? Are they, are they?!” I nod my head as I charge to the checkout counter. “You are the best Mommy ever!” says Melanie. Sylvia now has the bag of frozen edamame, clutching it against her chest. As she swivels her hips side to side embracing the bag, she closes her eyes and sweetly sings, “Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.”

I scream, you scream, we all scream for....edamame?

3 thoughts on ““You are the best Mommy ever!”

  1. waterthecamels says:

    What a hoot. I think had I been behind you in line I would have begged to follow you for a few hours in order to get a thorough heart tickling!!! : )
    I am not sure my kids will ever scream for edamame : )

Leave a Reply

