Shamrock 1/2 Marathon – Done!!!!

I did it! I made it to the finish line! It was an amazing experience. When I started this venture, I had just one goal: get to the end. As I started my training, I knew I would make it. I modified my goals to finish in less than 3 hours. And I made it. I finished the race in 02:38:04! I met my goal and then some!

I was so anxious, I didn’t sleep well last night. In the beginning, I was encouraged because I was running faster than most of the people in my corral. As I kept going, I ended up in a pack. I eventually realized that the guy holding a stick which read “2:30” wasn’t crazy, he was pacing people. It was great. I hope one day I can do that for someone else. I stuck with him as long as I could, and I didn’t lose him from my sight until mile 10 when I took my first walk. This was the first time I have run 9 miles without waking, ever!

I don’t know when or what my next race will be. It could be three years in the future, but I am sure I will keep on running. One of my good friends told me before my race to remember, that you don’t go out and run all by yourself, in the rain, four times a week, for anyone but yourself, and just to have fun. It is so true. You can’t diet or exercise for other people. You have to do it for yourself. It has to be because you want it. The best part is that I decided to run this race. I knew it was going to be a challenge having a 6-month-old baby. It was the challenge I wanted. Today, when I ran that race, I wasn’t a mom. I was just a girl out there running 13.1 miles like everyone else. For 2:38, I was Sheena all by myself. Then I got to run into the arms of my little girls and look at all my family who was there to support me. What a great day!

What are you going to do?

8 thoughts on “Shamrock 1/2 Marathon – Done!!!!

  1. fairyhealthylife says:

    Congratulations! That’s what I love about running! For a while I am my own person again. Not someones mom or wife, and when they are at that finish line it is the greatest feeling. Great job! I’m glad I found your blog.

Leave a Reply

