Raising Sisters

I jump back in the car from my quick trip in the grocery store. Husband has a goofy look on his face, it is one of complete satisfaction from the fried chicken he just ate at Cracker Barrel. I see something else in his eyes. “What’s up?” I look back towards the back seat. The girls are stuffing their face with the gummy candies they picked from the general store. 

“They are something else.” Husband replies. “How so?” “They were just sitting there eating their candy and Sylvia looks over to Melanie and says ‘I love you Mel Mel.’ Melanie glanced up between bites ‘Yeah, I love you too.'” I smile sit back and buckle up. I laugh “they really are something else.” 

I don’t have a sister. I don’t even have many friends with a sister.  My closest friends through the years have been people who didn’t have sisters. I don’t know how that happened. I also don’t know how I ended up with three little girls. I feel so blessed to experience the world of sisterhood through my girls. When I look at my girls this quote seems to encompass their relationship best.

She is your mirror, shining back at you with a world of possibilities. She is your witness, who sees you at your worst and best, and loves you anyway. She is your partner in crime, your midnight companion, someone who knows when you are smiling, even in the dark. She is your teacher, your defense attorney, your personal press agent, even your shrink. Some days, she’s the reason you wish you were an only child.
— Barbara Alpert


5 thoughts on “Raising Sisters

  1. waterthecamels says:

    I have an older sister I would be lost without. She was my trail-blazer, making the playing field a little more level for me. She is the only one I know who will call me and say “Jody, I need to talk to you about something. Please just hear me out and if you want to we can just hang up. You can talk later when you have thought it out.”

    People might think that is crazy, but never once has she been off base with her observation. I know she loves me and loves me enough to say hard things in a loving way.

    I have 2 girls. I pray they learn to love and appreciate each other far earlier than Amy & I did (College)

Leave a Reply

