It’s official – I am my Mother!

The day has come, and I have been forced to accept my fate. I am my mother. It is a day I swore would never come. We all have that moment when we promise to never do a certain something that is irrational, ridiculous, or nonsensical. We make a futile pact to escape our fate.

Today it happened that I did the thing I swore I would never do. I forgot to eat. You might have been anticipating some form of corporal punishment I finally brought down upon my children. That is not the case. My mother had to grocery shop while brandishing a wooden spoon to keep me from pulling everything into the cart. I don’t blame her for it, and if I had me for a child, I might have done it too.

The thing I swore never to do is much more common. I vividly remember an afternoon in my childhood.  My mother was beside herself,  rummaging madly through the kitchen for a snack that would satisfy but not fill her up before dinner. “Why are you so hungry, Mom?” “Because I forgot to eat.” “How can you forget to eat? That is silly! I could never forget to eat!” “You would be surprised at how easy it can be to forget to eat.” “No, Mom, I will never forget to eat. It is impossible.”

Maybe I am unique in my extreme dependency on normal blood sugar levels. I have always been religious about eating three meals per day at even intervals, and if I were to miss a meal, my crankiness would overwhelm, and no one would be forgetting it.  Thus, I did not believe my mother, and honestly thought she must be covering up for some low calorie diet plan gone wrong.

Today I messed up. I somehow got from 7:00 am to 2:30 pm without a bite to eat. By mid afternoon, I was hunting for a snack. Why was I so hungry? I ate lunch just an hour ago, didn’t I? Wait, what did I eat? I didn’t eat anything, did I? What did I eat for breakfast? Then it hit me. I didn’t eat a thing. I hadn’t had one bite of food all day, and I didn’t know it. I forgot to eat! I was overwhelmed. It was unthinkable, and apparently I am more like the rest of the human race than I previously realized.

6 thoughts on “It’s official – I am my Mother!

  1. MamaMoo says:

    I have forgotten to eat a couple of times and then there are times that I think i must have forgotten to eat but i can’t remember for sure wether or not i had that yogurt this morning or was that yesterday? I swear having two preschoolers causes this food related amnesia, but maybe its just kids in general.

  2. canadianmommytime says:

    Me too! I’m turning into my mom in appearance and I forget to eat just like you. I have had to make a conscious effort to eat because I had lost too much weight – chasing toddler, nursing baby and forgetting to eat make for too skinny!
    Fun read! I identified and enjoyed.

    • sheenasnyder says:

      I am glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for the compliment. I do not usually forget to eat. I might not have time and just get cranky. It baffled me that I hadn’t thought about food once all day until I couldn’t take it any longer.

  3. Janet S says:

    I totally get this. I’ve taken to drinking a protein shake first thing in the morning while feeding the girls, because it is so likely that i’ll forget to feed myself otherwise. With the shake, my stomach gets normal function going, and around lunch I’ll actually feel hunger pangs. If I don’t have even this form of breakfast, I can forget lunch too because the pangs never start until early afternoon! Scary.

    • sheenasnyder says:

      The protein shake sounds like a reasonable solution. I certainly didn’t imagine working a shake into my daily routine so I would not forget to eat. Maybe if we wake up before the kids do we can have time for a cup of coffee and cereal in peace! (But that means we lose sleep. I don’t think that will work out either.

Leave a Reply

