Faith

James 1 :5-8

If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him. 6 But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind. 7 For that person must not suppose that he will receive anything from the Lord; 8 he is a double-minded man, unstable in all his ways.

This verse is one of the verses in our bible study this past week. It really has been driving me crazy since I read it. I have a few big things I want to pray for, and I know there is a piece of me doubting that it will make a difference. I want to pray and know that my prayer can create change. I find myself to be the “double-minded man,” praying in submission to God’s plan but not really knowing what that is, not really knowing if my prayers will take action. Is it possible to be like Elijah, calling down fires from heaven? Is it enough to want something? My doubting mind tells me if I ask for bread, I’ll receive a stone. My prayer tonight is to have faith. The faith of a mustard seed, if not to move mountains, then to ask for wisdom from Him who gives generously.

2 thoughts on “Faith

  1. Mark Snyder says:

    Good thoughts. We usually notice in these verses that we should ask for wisdom, but we don’t tie the rest of it to that thought. Though there are other verses that speak about asking and receiving, these all are really just about asking God for wisdom. The wisdom we need is to know God, put Him first, and not just know His word but do it. I am firmly convinced that the closer we draw to God and and the more we live out our faith, the more we will know the will of God and how to pray. Nevertheless, I find it easier to know how and when to pray for others than to pray for my own needs.

Leave a Reply

