1/2 Marathon – Week 5

Here are the quick stats. I ran a total of 22 miles this week. This morning, I ran 10 miles in 2:02. That is about a 12 minute mile pace. I am really enjoying this venture I tossed myself into. In November, when I had a two-month-old baby, I was going outside for 15-16 minutes trying to “run” one mile. I thought I had lost my mind and $90. I have never been a runner. Even through college, I was never good at running, I never enjoyed it, I wanted nothing to do with it. Here I am, a bona fide runner after all. I believe that anyone who set out to achieve this, not only could, but would in fact be a runner by the end.

I told a good friend who is a runner that, after my race, I’d be done with running. I would pick friends up for coffee after their runs. I could say “been there, done that, got the t-shirt,” and never run again. I don’t know if she knew this venture would change me, but it has. I made this commitment I have to achieve. I have to force myself to do it when I don’t want to, and now, I dare say I like it after all. I have dedicated three months to this so far. I have five weeks left. I believe it will have been one of the best decisions of my life. Here’s to week 6 and my 11 mile run next Saturday!

Leave a Reply

