1/2 Marathon – Week 3

I am training for my first ever 1/2 marathon! It is something I have been wanting to do for the past year, but since I was pregnant and I am not a runner by any stretch of the imagination, I had to wait. I signed up for the first one avaliable after having our third daughter. I thought why not start 2012 off with a huge goal. The best part about this that it is just for me. I spend all day everyday taking care of my family, and it is difficult to do things that don’t benefit the whole. I wanted to be selfish and do something just for me and feel accomplished at the end.

Today I ran 6 miles! It was the first time I have ever done that kind of a run. I was scared going into it that I was just going to be stuck outside for 3 hours walking these dreaded 6 miles. I did it though, and I did it at an 11 minute mile pace! I am really proud of myself. I am happy to be getting closer to my goal of running 13.1 miles, and I am really excited that I might be able to pull it off in less than 3 hours! Not too bad at all.

Leave a Reply

