Best Granola Ever

I have been eating my favorite Fage greek yogurt with granola for a long time now. It seems that the word is out about how healthy this yogurt is because I can usually buy it at Walmart or the commissary and it has been sold out recently. It certainly is really healthy (the fat free kind) here is why. In 8 ounces of this stuff there is 130 calories and 23 grams of protein! Which is perfect for rebuilding those muscles after your workouts at the gym. In one container of light Yoplait yogurt you are looking at about 100 calories, 10 grams of protein and that is in 6 oz of yogurt. If you didn’t know already that is why this yogurt is getting so popular. It really is that healthy. If you go out and buy it though you just might not like it. It tastes kind of like sour cream, it is thicker than sour cream, and there is no sugar of any kind added to it. I will tell you how I eat it and maybe you will find a love for it after all.

I was buying box and box of granola to eat with this yogurt, it is expensive, and I figured there had be a recipe out there that was at least as good as the box. I was wrong, the recipe  is 100 times better than that stuff in the box. I looked up Alton Brown and I found it. The best granola you’ve never had.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup slivered almonds
  • 1 cup cashews
  • 3/4 cup shredded sweet coconut
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup raisins

Directions

Preheat oven to 250 degrees F.

In a large bowl, combine the oats, nuts, coconut, and brown sugar.

In a separate bowl, combine maple syrup, oil, and salt. Combine both mixtures and pour onto 2 sheet pans. Cook for 1 hour and 15 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes to achieve an even color.

Remove from oven and transfer into a large bowl. Add raisins and mix until evenly distributed.

Here are my adaptations. I use half maple syrup and half honey because I don’t like things to taste to much like maple unless it is a pancake or waffle. I only use almonds to keep it a little healthier even though I am sure the cashews are delicious. I bring a handful or two of pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds to the party too. It is fresh, not hard and dry like some of the packaged kinds. And when you add the dried fruit it is actually moist unlike the really hard chewy pieces the other granolas call raisins . One more tip: I mix together a medley of regular raisins, golden raisins, and Craisins and keep them in a separate container so the moisture doesn’t make the granola chewy.  So, take your bowl put 1/4 cup of granola, 2 heaping spoonfuls of the thick greek yogurt, and one spoonful of mixed dried fruit and you have a healthy delicious breakfast or snack. Try it and you will never go back!

Leave a Reply

